DJ Mentos presents Flute Funk Volume 1 hosted by Wax Poetics

Ever since hearing St Germain’s “So Flute” track off his groundbreaking Tourist LP released in early 2000 I always loved me some flute in my tunes. That being said, while browsing the Wax Poetics magazine‘s latest picks I stumbled upon this 1-hour mix of funky flute-driven tracks by New York producer, beatmaker, hiphop-connoisseur and avid record collector DJ Mentos. According to the man himself, “all the songs featured [on ‘Flute Funk’] were recorded from original vinyl pressings. I realize that most people don’t care about that, but I do”. Hear for yourselves and make sure to check out Mentos’ free download 2012 instrumental hiphop release “Field of Vision”:

Here’s the tracklist:

  1. Intro Skit – dj mentos
  2. Ape Shuffle – The Jeff Wayne Space Shuttle
  3. Electric Godfather – Ebony Godfather
  4. Mama Soul – Harold Alexander
  5. Anonymous – Focus
  6. Harvest – Moe Koffman
  7. Flute Thing – The Blues Project
  8. Baby You’ll See (juggle) – Black Heat
  9. L’ete Indien (Africa)  – Frank Pourcel
  10. Death Wish OST snippet – Herbie Hancock
  11. Stop and Go – Mandrill
  12. Do It Again – Herbie Mann
  13. Zimba Ku – Black Heat
  14. Burning Spear – Soulful Strings
  15. Mighty Mighty – Jesse Anderson
  16. Spring (interlude) – Moe Koffman
  17. Coco – Joe Thomas
  18. You and Me – Lighthouse
  19. Benzele Windows – Horacee Arnold
  20. Chain of Fools – Herbie Mann
  21. Country Soul – Harold Alexander
  22. Psychecemotus – Yusef Lateef
  23. Overture to Summer – Moe Koffman