While browsing through my Twitter feed last week I chanced upon an exotic-reading retweet by The Vinyl Factory promoting Texas three-piece Khruangbin‘s equally engaging ‘Thai Funk Essentials’ playlist, which you can listen to via Mixcloud:

Khruangbin’s essential Thai funk mixtape by The Vinyl Factory on Mixcloud

Inspired by the obscure 1960s and 70s Thai funk recordings found on Monrakplengthai as well as Tarantino soundtracks, surf-rock sessions and groundbreaking space jazz explorations, the trio composed of Laura Lee on bass, Mark Speer on guitar and Donald “DJ” Johnson on drums set out to find and define its own spiritual soundscapes in a barn on the Texan countryside.

Their recently released debut LP “The Universe Smile Upon You” features a highly individual array of dreamy, organic sounds, grounded in wayfaring basslines and psychedelic instrumental episodes with rare and beautiful vocal occurences. But hear for yourselves: